Dangerous Goods Training

Dangerous Goods are articles or substances which are capable of posing a risk to health, safety, property or to the environment and which are classified according to Section 3 of the IATA (International Air Transport Association) Dangerous Goods Regulations (DGR).

The syllabus for Dangerous Goods training will vary according to the category of DG training required. These requirements are listed in the IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations. This course is mandatory for flight deck and cabin crew and currency needs to be renewed every 2 years. These categories also allow training to be provided for certain passenger handling staff, freight handlers and cargo/baggage handlers.

This course forms part of the cabin crew licensing program, or as a stand-alone subject for all aviation personnel.

Currently MATA offers Dangerous Goods training:

• Cat 5 (Freight Forwarders)
• Cat 8 (Operators & ground handling agents
​ i.e. baggage handlers).
• Cat 9 (Passenger handling agents).
• Cat 10 (Cockpit crew and load planners).
• Cat 11 (Cabin Crew)
• Cat 12 (Security Staff)

Course breakdown:
• Limitations.
• Classification.
• General Philosophy.
• Marking & Labeling.
• List of Dangerous Goods.
• Storage and Loading Procedures.
• Recognition of Undeclared Dangerous Goods.
• Shipper’s Declaration and other Relevant Documentation.
• Provisions for Passengers and Crew Emergency Procedures.

For further course information please fill out your details below.

Enter your email in this box and we'll send a copy.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.